Cheap Thrills: Tack Catalog Reference Sheets

Like many people, I rely heavily on the internet to provide me with references for horses and tack. But I also like to have pictures in hand. My numerous horse books are excellent sources for pictures and information. And I’ve discovered a great way to acquire tack references- for free!

Some tack companies that put out catalogs will send you one, free of charge, in the hope that you will buy something. If you don’t buy anything, they’ll stop mailing after one of two, but that gives you lots of reference to look at and leaf through for ideas and inspiration.

Want to request a catalog? Here are some options:

Since I’ve been cutting down on clutter, I wanted to go through my catalogs and organize the references that I really wanted. So I cut out and sorted the pictures I wanted, and then stuck them to old photo album sheets. You can get these for cheap at Goodwill, although you may have to buy the album that holds them too. I just find the cheapest album with the most sheets (I use them for recipes, too).

Here’s one for the many varieties of figure eight nosebands:

Thank you to Jennifer Buxton for pointing out that I goofed I grouped figure eight nosebands and flash nosebands together under one heading.

Now I can keep these in a binder and have the organized references at my finger tips when I need them, and without the excess pages of wormers and helmets and other such that I don’t need to keep around.

5 responses to “Cheap Thrills: Tack Catalog Reference Sheets

  1. I really need to do this at some point soon. I’ve got several catalogues that I’d sent off for for the very same reason (and to cut out feed/supplement labels for dios and stuff) but I hadn’t thought of cutting out the relevent bits and actually organising them!

  2. I do much the same thing, although I actually sprung for page protectors (which aren’t very expensive!).

    And you know that one of your figure eight bridles isn’t really a figure eight bridle, right? Not to be obnoxious, but the tackmaker in me just had to point that out!

  3. *headdesk* yes, I see that. What do you call that one again?

  4. It’s a regular snaffle bridle with a built in flash attachment. While the figure eight bridles are popular among the jumper and eventing crowds, the lower level dressage folks are all over this type of bridle. I can’t be sure from your scan, but it looks like that bridle is black which is always a tip-off to its dressage orientation. Of course you do see this sort of bridle at other types of competitions. It works better with a standing martingale than a true figure eight, so sometimes jumper riders use it for that reason. Or eventers might want to use the same bridle in cross country as they do in eventing. It’s fine for any of those disciplines. Just don’t put it on your hunter! :)

    • You are indispensable! Truly a tack goddess. Thanks for the correction. I evidently need to study up on bridle types and take my time when I’m snipping pictures instead of getting over excited about organization. I will certainly correct this in my references!

Leave a Reply

