Choosing Colors

Usually by the time I have a horse in primer I’ve given it a name and planned a color. But not so for the horse I’ve been referring to in my notes as “Head up mare” (She has a corresponding sister, Head down mare). She’s come a long way from her original digital mock-up to her current status as an almost-ready-to-paint creation.

Just a bit more sanding and primer and shell be ready to go

So now it’s crunch time to pick a color. She did give me a hint and told me that she should be some kind of chestnut, but there are so many beautiful choices out there. I’ve narrowed it down to seven reference horses (click to enlarge).

What do you think?

One response to “Choosing Colors

  1. one of the deep red chestnuts, either with light or dark mane and tail. i like the darker one :)

Leave a Reply

