NAN Favorites

When I am too swamped with real life obligations to spend time working on model horses, I satisfy my plastic pony needs by oogling the work of others. This week I’ve been checking the results page of the North American Nationals show rather religiously for new photo updates. I thought I’d share some of my favorites from this years show.

All photos are copyrighted by NAMSHA and were screen captured from their 2011 results page.

I adore draft horses under saddle and always root for them in both real and model horse show rings.

CM English Over Fences

This lovely lady won not one but two NAN cookies. According to Jennifer Buxton’s NAN post, this is a Sheila Anderson Bishop Sundance resin that was then customized by Lyn Norbury. Quite the transformation!

CM English Arena Trail

Sue Kern‘s drastic customs never fail to blow my away. This Wixom (I think) is just gorgeous.

CM Breed Halter – Other Pure/Part/Grade Draft

I’d like to give this lovely lady a new home. She’s Sarah Minkiewicz-Breunig’s Elsie. Doesn’t just look like the sweetest backyard broodmare? I’d love to see her in performance with a little kid in pink cowboy boots riding her in a halter.

AR/OS Breed Halter – Part/Grade Sport/Carriage/Cob

I sometimes get tired of all the Peter Stone extreme factory customs out there, but I sure am a fan of this bratty beast.

OFP Collectibility – Stone – Factory Customs & Enhanced

My holy grail, the Collett Clydesdale Mare, won in Collectibility. I still have yet to find one for sale, let alone in my price range.

OFC Collectibility – Large Edition N/S American/Asian

Another awesome Stone Factory custom. A great idea that was well executed.

OFP Collectibility – Stone Draft/Pony/Stock – One-of-a-Kind Realistic Color

Don’t Eat the Paint‘s Laura Skillern crafted this awesome exotic equine. He’s an awesome use of the Hobo mold.

CM Breed Halter – Mule/Donkey/Exotic

Wow, this post really belies my fondness for drafters. I better get cracking on some custom drafters of my own…

One response to “NAN Favorites

  1. Oh, that Clydesdale is gorgeous! I’d love to snaffle that one!

Leave a Reply

