Odds and Ends and Links and Pictures

Since I came in on one of my off days this week I had Monday off, which is a real treat. I spent most of the time chillaxing with ponies and have various goodies to share.

For those of you who don’t read Jennifer Buxton’s amazing blog, I wanted to re-post a link she posted for the MEPSA (Model Equine Photo Shower’s Association) Performance Clinic. Members can submit their photos in various classes and have them placed and critiqued by others. There is also lots of information on basic performance classes. This is a great resource for anyone wanting to learn more about performance showing.

For the first time in a while I checked out the Model Horse Sales Pages and found not one but TWO Stablemate Fjord customs. One is by Shannon Mayfield on the Highland Pony mold (ad here) and the other is by Jeanine Olsen on the Para Dressage mold (ad here). The Para Dressage mold does make a lovely Fjord, but I like the Highland too. Without the feathers the legs look cleaner but strong. I think my guy will end up working out as one- and I can always show him as a young stallion if I still don’t think he’s beefy enough.

I put in quite a few hours on my little race horse project today- I don’t think I’ve mentioned it on the blog yet, but I’m making three micro mini race horses with (non-removable) tack and jockeys to put in a little diorama. They’ll be in the homestretch about to cross the finish line.

I’m still in the early stages. Right now I’ve got my three horses about where they need to be, with a little more epoxy work necessary. Then they’ll need to have their acrylic rods put in before I start painting them. But before that, I’ve got to finish sculpting the jockeys, since they need to be fitted to each horse. And right now they look like little deformed water skippers.

And the horses are looking funky in their acrylic “primer” and cellophane safety suits.

And now back to my “studio.” I hope to sneak in another hour or two of fun before I have to think about boring things like chores or eating.

2 responses to “Odds and Ends and Links and Pictures

  1. Your “deformed water skippers” made me laugh aloud. I remember when you started this project – I’m excited to see it coming along!

  2. lol, those riders look pretty funny!! but it will be a great setup when you get it finished!

Leave a Reply

