Oregon State Fair: Draft Horse Drooling

I looooove draft horses. They are the most gorgeous beasts I’ve ever seen and my dream is to ride one, preferably bareback. So I was overjoyed to find that on the same day of the fair as the drill team competitions, the drafters were competing in pulling and log skidding. And I was doubly overjoyed to get to go see the drafters up close before the events started.

These guys were my favorites. They are both Percheron geldings.

Just look at that sweet face!

Most of the teams were made up of Belgian geldings.

Most of the horses were barefoot, but this team wore these intense shoes. I assume they are for better traction during the pulling contest. But ouch… as if getting stepped on by a draft wouldn’t hurt enough!

I was very entertained to note that while regular horse trailers are pulled by trucks, draft horses need to be pulled by semi cabs..

More pictures to come… with these beautiful big boys in action!

Leave a Reply

