Merry Christmas!

Enjoy your holiday!

3 responses to “Merry Christmas!

  1. Merry Christmas to you! And give your horse a good scritching from me, too. :)

  2. I LOVE your blog… and you have inspired me to start repainting Schleich models… I cant wait…

    but I have a few questions, please… You say you use pastells in powder form. How do you get it from stick to powder form? I have read, I think, your entire blog for tips and hints and it has been SO helpful!!!

    Will now stalk you ;) And blame you for my new hobby…. :D I have sculpted clay and drypainted ceramics before, as well as painted multimedia for as long as I remember, so I HOPE my venture into re-painting schleich horses will be fun!!! :D

    Thank you!

    • Thanks! I’m flattered, and very happy to have inspired you!

      To shave the pastels I run a small knife (just an old dull pocket knife- almost anything would work) down the stick of chalk pastels until I get a little pile of dust. You can mix and match colors as needed. If you are experienced with painting acrylic you might want to try that too- many people paint model horses that way, I just prefer pastelling because I find shading very difficult with acrylics.

      Jeanne Gunert of EquineArt has a great How-To on pastelling. It used to be online but she is going to send me a PDF soon- I’ll be sure to post it so you can check it out. It’s how I got started.

      Feel free to post or email if you have any more questions!

Leave a Reply

