Play-Doh is Fun Again

Sara Gifford of FriesianFury Studio did a lovely blog post about using Play-Doh way back in February, but I didn’t have a reason to try it until recently. My resin drafter has a nifty little acrylic rod in his hoof to help him stand, and I needed to protect it from primer.

So off I went to the store to get some play-doh. At first I only found the big packs with many different colors, but then I found this handy zip pack for only $1.99.

I took a little piece of play-doh (man, even this small bag is going to last me forever) and smooshed it over the acrylic peg so it was completely covered. Then I primed him like normal.

After I was done priming, I simply pulled off the play-doh, with the acrylic rod safe and sound and clean.

I won’t have a frequent use for play-doh, but I’m really glad I got some. It’s one of those tools that is the perfect choice when you need it- you just don’t need it very often. But I’ll definitely never struggle with painter’s tape again. Those days are over!

Thanks for the great post, Sara!

One response to “Play-Doh is Fun Again

  1. That’s a good idea for sure!
    I have employed charcoal eraser for the same task, but only because I had so much of it lying around here still. (I had a phase when I loved sketching in charcoal). Otherwise it would have been slightly expensive. *g* This material can also be used to stick a wobbly horse to the shelf – unlike wax, it is mostly indifferent to moderate temperature changes.

Leave a Reply

