Fuzzy Pony Progress

One of the projects I’m hoping to finish before my September live shows is this fuzzy little pony. You may remember him from back when he was a bunch of pieces, but he’s whole and horse shaped now!

After I sculpted his feathers, I decided I wanted him to be hairy overall so I sculpted hair on his chin and belly and used messo to make hair patterns over the rest of his body.

The only problem with hair texture is that it’s hard to get pastels to color every bit. So I always put down a layer or two of acrylic to get into all the crevices. Since this pony is going to be a sun-faded black, I used a brown acrylic for his base.

After the first layer of acrylic I found some places I wanted to re-texture, hence the white on his barrel.

He was looking pretty stark and scary at first, but now with some layers of pastel his color is starting to come along. And I’m very pleased with his fuzzy look!

5 responses to “Fuzzy Pony Progress

  1. This is such a cutie…well done. Bet he will do great, Carole

  2. AWWWW! HES SOOOO CUTE! Kinda looks like a Schleich!
    Can’t wait to see more of him!

  3. He’s so adorable :) I love the textures on him. Can’t wait to see the finished product.

  4. Love how the acrylic glows underneath the pastels!

  5. So cute!!

Leave a Reply

