Project Charlotte

Besides work, there’s another special something taking up a lot of my time. It’s a super-special super-fun venture that I’m calling Project Charlotte.

Charlotte is a 24yo Morgan mare who teaches lessons at the barn where I ride. Her number one fan is a nine year old girl named Malia.

Malia is getting a big surprise in November- Charlotte is her 10th birthday present! And because Malia is very interested in Charlotte’s history and family, I’m writing to all her previous owners in the hope to learn more about her life and researching her pedigree. I’m going to put together a little book with information about Charlotte’s life and both her human and equine families.

Charlotte’s papers list her previous owners and their addresses, although many of those are out of date. My first task was to draft a letter and then stalk those people to find out their current addresses. I was mostly successful (I think) and hopefully I’ll be getting some responses soon. One woman I found on Facebook, and she’s already sent me back some wonderful stories and pictures from Charlotte’s early life. Even if that’s all I get, Malia will be thrilled!

In the midst of folding letters and addressing envelopes

The second part of the project is researching Charlotte’s family. She traces to a lot of illustrious Morgans, and I’m having way too much fun researching them, finding pictures, looking for show records, etc.

Sealect of Windcrest, Charlotte’s paternal great-grandsire

I’ve spent a lot of time pouring through what I could find online, particularly the archives of the Morgan Horse Association and the New York State Morgan Horse Society. Another great reference has been the Old Morgans photo blog.

Today I got a great phone call from my local interlibrary loan desk- there are books the way to me all the way from Bixby Memorial Library in Vermont! I can’t wait to pour over them and hopefully add some good stuff to my growing collection.

2 responses to “Project Charlotte

  1. Awwww, that’s so sweet!
    You better have the smelling salts handy when she gets the news – something tells me she won’t have been expecting it!

  2. I’m so happy for her. I wish I could get a horse for my birthday, Guess I’ll just have to settle for my 200+ models. :P

Leave a Reply

