In New York City

‘Cause everyone’s your friend in New York City
And everything looks beautiful when you’re young and pretty
The streets are paved with diamonds and there’s just so much to see
But the best thing about New York City is you and me…

I sing They Might Be Giants’ cover of that Cubs song every time I’m in New York, and often enough when I’m not. The husband and I have been in NYC this week visiting my family for Thanksgiving and enjoying the hustle and bustle of the big city.

My cousins and I used to always love riding the Central Park Carousel, and as this was the first time in a long time we’d all been together, we had to head into the park for a ride. I remembered the tickets as $1 for a little red raffle-style tickets, but now it’s $2.50 for an ugly receipt ticket (she said grumpily, shaking her finger and waving her cane). But the ponies are still wonderful!

We chose a row of mighty grey stallions for our steeds.

Although this trip has been great, I’m sad that the dates were Wednesday to Wednesday because that means I’m missing out on not one but two of my riding days at home. So I’m even keener than usual on seeing the horses that pull the tourist cabs through Central Park. We’re staying near Central Park West and walking a lot, so I got to see lots of sweet ponies.

Check out this beautiful black horse’s reflective leg wear. His driver wore a tophat and a sweet bow tie too.

This guy was one of my favorites. Talk about stocky!

These horses are the definition of bombproof. Check out this guy parked near the busy intersection at Columbus Circle.

This chill dude was waiting in traffic on Central Park South, calm as you please.

Besides the horses, there were lots of dogs to see- big and small, fuzzy, sleek, all colors and attitudes. But one thing was true about nearly all of them- they were wearing coats. It’s very cold here- it snowed today, in fact, so humans and canines are bundled up alike. This coated crew was hanging out outside a store in uptown Manhattan.

We’re off to see War Horse tonight (the play, not the movie) and tomorrow we’re on the plane home. Then it’s back to life… and time to get cracking on the holiday gift projects!

Leave a Reply

