Obligatory New Year’s Post

Happy New Year everyone!

I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions, but today is still a nice day to reflect on the past and plan for the future. I have a lot to look forward to this year, and I’m excited to jump in.

On the hobby front, I am feeling excited and inspired to be customizing again. I’ve been so busy lately it’s really been on the back burner, but I miss it and I’m looking forward to digging in again. And hopefully, blogging about it! Earlier this year I was posting nearly every other last. Last month, I posted a total of three things to the blog. Every other day is a bit of a steep goal with how much I’m working, but twice a week shouldn’t be too much of a stretch.

I’ve got a number of customs and projects planned for this year.

The Ponies of 2013

The Ponies of 2013

What an exciting bunch! I have three beautiful naked resins to play with, as well as two long awaited drastic projects that are coming together. The palomino foal and the micros in the above picture will hopefully all be donations to live shows.

I have a number of performance goals as well, hence the riders. I’d like to incorporate more figures into my set ups, as well as branch out and get more of my models into performance. I’ve got some creative ideas stewing for how to get some of my more uniquely positioned horses into the ring. And that means more tack, too! I plan to start work on my first Western saddle as well as a pony sized English set.

This year will definitely be a challenge for balancing hobby, work, and life. I’ve got three different trips planned, including a three week jaunt in England in April. I’ll still be riding my horse every week and may even be convinced to attend a few schooling shows this summer. My work is continuing to grow and evolve and there’s a lot of exciting potential there. And to top it off, the hubby and I are starting to think about purchasing a condo in the city.

Twenty thirteen, here we come!

4 responses to “Obligatory New Year’s Post

  1. Wow, sounds like a busy year, I wish you much luck and fun with/ for all things you plan. :)
    The bunch of project horses looks very interesting already. Is the headless trotting bay one of the Breyer racehorse ornaments? (I have always wondered about their size, so it would be cool to know)

    • Yes, that poor guy was formerly the Citation ornament. As you can see, he’s bigger than a Stablemate, but considerably smaller than Pebbles or Schleich scales.

  2. Oooh, those customs look like they’re going to be interesting to watch develop!
    I didn’t know you were crossing the pond either – you need to wrangle a trip up north while you’re over here and steal yourself a Clydesdale to take home. :P

    • Oh how I would love that! I’ll primarily be in Cambridge and London, with (hopefully!) a train trip up to a wee little town in Cumbria to visit some friends. It’s my first trip to the UK, and I’m super stoked!

Leave a Reply

