Official Hiatus

I haven’t blogged in almost a month. I’ve barely had time to work on horses, let alone blog about it. But I have some solid and exciting excuses!

December was a big month- I found a new, local barn to start riding at and my husband and I finally found a home to buy after a year of looking and five failed offers on condos and houses.

My new barn is a lovely hunter/jumper stable about 30 minutes away. It’s still a bit of a drive, but that’s what I get for city living :) I love the owner/trainer and have a great arrangement where I help teach lessons in exchange for ride time. It’s very nice to be riding more often. I’m also enjoying riding different horses, although I do miss Cochise. I need to go visit him soon…

napping pony

Our new home is a condo in downtown Portland in the heart of the most walkable neighborhood with amazing food and amenities all within walking distance. I told the husband we needed to factor a little extra into our monthly budget in fact.. there’s a Blick Art Materials kitty corner from our place!

The condo also has an amazing patio that you can’t believe is in the middle of the city. It’s a big open loft-style place like our current apartment, and it also has a cute little nook which will become my studio. We have grand plans for putting in a counter and cabinets for all my goodies.

On top of those big excitements, we had a friend visiting this month and I’m leaving imminently for a work trip. In fact, I’m sitting in the airport right now! I kept meaning to post and didn’t find the time until now.

I’ll be out of the country for a week and we move pretty much as soon as I get back. Because of this, I am going on an official blogging hiatus until life settles down a bit.

2014-01-19 12.36.32

Frances helps with the packing.

If you’re yearning for more active hobby writings, I highly recommend you check out Braymere Custom Saddlery. The indomitable Jennifer Buxton blogs every day! I doubt I’ll ever reach her level of awesomeness, but I promise I will return to blogging… when I get settled again!

 

8 responses to “Official Hiatus

  1. Hey I see youre in the Portland area, are you attending the midwinter mini madness show? I’ll be there, would be nice to meet you :)

  2. I was actually supposed to judge at Mini Madness, but it ended up conflicting with this work trip which is a real bummer :( I will be at NW Expo in April though, and generally any other Portland/Willamette Valley area shows. Am I correct that you’re in Walla Walla? I haven’t gotten out to any of those shows yet- it’s quite the drive, and I don’t like to do overnights.

    • Oh that’s right, I forgot you were an initial judge, sorry I hadn’t put the two together. Yes I am in Walla Walla. Its about a 4 hr drive. My brother is in portland so it makes it worth the trip over for me :)

  3. Congratulations on finding a new home! AND a new local barn! WOW!
    How exciting for you to have TWO truly great reasons for a blog hiatus.
    Your blog is one of a number I check daily and I will miss reading it but totally understand. Good Luck with everything! : )

    • I’m honored Evelyn :) I hope to be back and blogging soon, but I want to make sure I actually have time to be active here before I commit.

  4. Hi Leah,
    I love your blog! I’m Eva from last years Rose City Live. My table was next to yours. :D
    Eva

Leave a Reply

