Begin Again

I put this blog on official hiatus last January when I realized that work, moving, and starting at a new barn were keeping me too busy. My models and supplies were put away in preparation for our move, and I spent my weekends at the barn teaching lessons or at home packing boxes.

moving boxes

Helper cat is helpful

We moved into our new home in February. Painting, cleaning, unpacking, and organizing kept us busy. In April my dream came true and we had a studio built into a nook. I eagerly documented the process so I’d be able to share it here.

finished studio

My new studio

At the end of April, I got sick, and I didn’t get better. Once again I found myself turning to models as a mental escape from frustrating exhaustion and depression. I couldn’t ride, but at least I had performance showing goals to work towards in the few hours a day I wasn’t sleeping.

So although I’d meant to start blogging again after we moved in, I didn’t. But I worked toward getting better. By the end of the summer I was feeling well enough to attend a live show. By September I was riding again. Today, I think I’m more or less back to normal, health-wise.

Despite the illness, it’s been a great year. We love our new condo and our urban life. I’m back to my regular hours at work, tackling new and exciting projects. I’m riding regularly and falling in love with a little dun gelding. I’ve had some great hobby successes and have exciting goals for the future.

Sweet Onion Live 2014

Sweet Onion Live 2014

And as of right now, I’m blogging again! I’ve been keeping up with the other hobby blogs during my absence from the blogosphere, and I am constantly excited, inspired, and in awe of other hobbyists’ dedication to sharing their experiences. I know I wouldn’t be where I am today in the hobby without this generosity, and I want to be able to reciprocate. I may not be up to blogging as much as I did before my hiatus, but at least I’ll be posting again.

I particularly want to give a shout out to a couple specific people whose blogging has been inspirational to me over the last few months. To Jennifer Buxton, whose dedication to blogging and willingness to share is unparalleled. To Sarah Minkiewicz-Breunig, whose honest and heartfelt post about her depression and her hobby journey resonated with me deeply- and made me want to buy an OF Breyer. And finally to Grace Ledoux, whose awesome hobby blog I recently discovered, whose mini tack is amazing, and whose thankful note pushed me to finally write this.

Thank you everyone! I’m excited to be back.

thumbs up jump 1 copy

10 responses to “Begin Again

  1. Glad to have you back Leah!

  2. I am so glad you are back! I have missed this blog with all its mini and micro minis!

  3. I’ve been checking your blog every so often, hoping for a new post. It’s great to see you back here and I’m glad you’re feeling better!

  4. I’m so glad you’re back! And it means to much to me that my post inspired you- I absolutely can’t wait to catch up with your latest adventures. :)

  5. Welcome back! I’m glad to hear you’re doing well. :)

  6. Glad to have you back! I checked your blog frequently to see if you were back. Glad you have returned to blogging!

  7. Welcome back, I’ve missed your blog posts! :)

  8. Welcome back! You were missed and I’ve been checking in on here for new posts too. I’m so glad to hear you are doing well and feeling better!

  9. Thank you all for your kind words! I really appreciate it. I’m excited to be blogging again.

  10. Yay! I’m so glad you’re back, and thanks for the shout out! <3

Leave a Reply

