Progress Update

My focus for the last few weeks has been two trade-commissions I have in progress. I’m very eager to get both of these horses back to their owners with their new paint jobs.

First up is this Moxie resin (sculpted by Sarah Rose). She’s very close to finished as a red dun overo. She still needs her mane and tail painted and other acrylic details, but her body color- acrylic markings over oils- is done (and dun!).

Next to Moxie on the shelf is this Mini Hazel resin (by Morgen Kilbourn). I had always loved the traditional sized Hazel resin so I was very excited when Morgen cast her in mini size. I am painting this one to a deep dark bay. I wish she was easier to photograph- I’ve done many layers (more than I’d anticipated!) on the way to capturing the purpleish and gold tones of the reference picture. She still has more oils work to go and will be finished up with some minimal whites.

The other piece demanding my attention is my newest performance horse, RoboClop. I showed him at BreyerWest as a solid bay, but he was always meant to be a pinto like my reference picture. I finally got his markings on and I’m really pleased with how they came out.

Showing in English Pleasure at the Region 1 Championship Show

I’ve had a few weekends away but I’m looking forward to a more low key weekend coming up- with lots of time set aside for painting.

One response to “Progress Update

  1. The Moxie resin looks great in red dun! 😊

Leave a Reply

