Region 1 Championship Show 2017

My most recent live show was the long awaited Region 1 Championship Show in Kennewick, Washington. Our NAMHSA rep- who is also an avid show holder- has been fundraising for several years to get this show off the ground. I’m really glad I made the trek out to attend.

This show was open to model horses who had won a NAN card at a Region 1 show in the last five years. It was different from a standard show in that we had to put the horse on the table with their NAN card (so that the stewards could confirm eligibility) but the winners did not earn new NAN cards.

The halter divisions had a good turn out with many lovely horses from all around the region. I was very chuffed to earn a few “cookies” of my own, as well as a number of Top Fives.

Hovito won Top 5 in breed

Mr. L. B. Scuttlebutt won Top 5 in breed

August P. Hattington surprised me by winning Champion of the carriage breeds class.

Tater Bug won Top 5 in breed

I was delighted when Jump the Shark won Reserve Champion in his breed class. He is one of my favorites but judges don’t usually agree :)

Mr. L. B. Scuttlebutt won Reserve Champion in workmanship

Tater Bug surprised me by winning Reserve Champion in a very large custom dilutes class.

I also showed in performance, but unfortunately I was one of the only entrants. Performance has been having very low turnout in our region in the last few years, which is really sad. It’s much more fun to show (and judge!) when you have full classes. Unfortunately, in most of  the champ show classes I was only showing against myself.

That said, it was fun to get RoboClop out again- especially now that he is actually done and has his pinto spots. The low turnout also sparked some good conversation about how we can hopefully encourage more people to show performance and hopefully revive it.

PHF Richard Squared in English Trail with my cute new welcome kitty props.

RoboClop in Stock Work

Hopefully the Region 1 Championship Show will become an annual or semi-annual occurrence :)

Leave a Reply

